|McCallum Museum and Brunson Heritage House|| |
|Osceola County Historical Society||Phone: 712-754-3710|
|At the Museum in Sibley, Iowa, visitors can find the H. K. Rogers House, one of the first wooden dwellings built in Osceola County. It had been moved to the City Park and the family of Albert W. McCallum provided the money to build the Museum and protect the wooden homestead. The Museum was built around the home in 1957. Here one can see many pioneer tools, artifacts, and household goods. Such items as Civil War guns, swords and uniforms, china and glassware, buggies, farm equipment, and photographs are on display. In a later addition, collections from Dorothea Brunson of antique home furnishings have been placed.|
Admission – None
Directions – at the corner of 5th Street and 8th Avenue, Sibley, IA 51249.
Hours – 1:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m., Sundays and holidays (also by appointment)
Phone – (712) 754-3710
|The DeBoer Grocery Museum|| |
|Bill & Connie Honkomp||Phone: 712-724-6239|
|Located on Ashton's main Street, this museum houses artifacts from DeBoer's Grocery Store, Knutsen's Clothing Store, Hoffman's Shoe Repair, and St. Joseph's Grade School and High School.|
|The Tracy House|| |
|Barb Block||Phone: 712-758-3130|
|The Tracy House was purchased and moved to its present location in Ocheyedan in 1902, by Mr. and Mrs. Romey Tracy. The inside is furnished with items donated by the community which date before 1902. |
Some of the items include; dishes, a table, and a Bible from the Congregational Church. In 1976 the Osceola County Historical Society became interested in preserving the house.
In addition to the house there is a steel building which contains historical agricultural tools, old office machines, county records, books, photographs, and trophies.